Positive Outlook, Worry, and Taking Things Too Seriously

Being who I am, I noticed something common among my generation (rather the people that live in this decade, at least.). When it comes to sayings, rules and life in general, many people take things way too seriously.

When there is popular saying that is supposed to have a positive influence or make you look at a bad situation in a positive way, it tends to be used in favor of the negatives also. For example, the phrase “Never say never.” should be used as positive reinforcement that something good will happen. However, a constant downer, like my mother, would use it in a negative way.

Me: A tornado isn’t going to destroy our house. Relax.

Mom: Never say never.

See? In my eyes, the saying “Never say never” should only apply to your hopes, dreams, etc. That’s what it’s for. Also, almost everything now is based off of rules. The rules must fully apply to every situation. Always. Let’s say a guy is accused of kidnapping and murdering a little girl. (I’m taking this from something I saw on TV, don’t freak.) It is against the law for a cop to hit a suspect. Say the guy confessed and the cop had to beat the crap out of him to get him to confess. That cop is suspended and the criminal goes on with his life, though the fact that the creep probably deserved it isn’t taken into account. Rules MUST be followed. Another situation that I have seen both sides of, is when a student is smart and trying hard to pass, but is failing. Now, I’m not just saying this because I’m in this situation, because I was once that straight-A student who looked at other students and thought, “Why are they failing? They’re smart.” Just because there isn’t a whole lot of evidence to show that they’re smart, (besides test scores and talking to them to figure out they’re an intelligent human being) doesn’t mean they should have to fail. If the kid is smart and they’re trying, don’t you think they deserve to pass? Again, this is where everything is based off of rules and evidence. I guess it doesn’t matter what people deserve anymore.

Basically what I’m trying to say is, relax. Don’t take life too seriously and look at all of the negatives or all of the positives. Balance out worry and positive outlook. This isn’t math where “What you do to one side you have to do to the other”.   If you’re depressed, you’re not doing it right, sorry. Try something different. A positive attitude might not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

Look at it like this: Life isn’t all black or all white, it’s grey.

Oh, and while we’re on the subject of taking things too seriously, Things celebrities say are over exaggerated and blown up by the media. Everyone freaks out when a celebrity say they don’t like something. So what if Kim Kardashian doesn’t like something or whatever? No one cares.

On second thought, no one cares about the Kardashians anyway.

*   *   *

Anywaaay, I was finally able to go to Emily’s! I feel clingy saying that, but I missed her a lot and I barely get to see her. Anyway, after running around the mall for a few hours, We went back to her house and drank a bunch of Monster. We couldn’t fall asleep so we watched, like, five really weird movies. I fell asleep at the end of Monty Python’s Meaning of Life, so when I woke up, Emily went all the way back and replayed it. I guess I’m special.

Now I can officially call my family broke. Insurance doesn’t pay for all of Jason’s thirteen cavities, so now we have to pay $1,500 out-of-pocket so his teeth don’t rot. Forrest Gump needs to learn how to floss. Ew.

No matter how many cavities that boy has, I still love him. He fixed my laptop, which in turn saved my life. I was having withdrawals. So I now have 5 names for him. Cavity Boy, Forrest Gump, Computer Geek, Skippy, and Homeless Hotspot.

I missed a lot of people. Now I finally get to see them. :)

Leave Your Complaints:

